Shoup Award

Outstanding Region/Society Participation
The Shoup Award was created in the early 1980s by the Rebel Region (Southeast Region) to encourage pre-war car participation in Region/Society meets.
Decades later, we have expanded this to include older cars in general. To encourage “older cars” to participate in events, a new scoring method has been approved.
The event may be a one-day meet or any single day of a multi-day affair, tour, or meet. Only the cars participating on that single day will count for the Shoup award, no matter how many total cars participate in the affair, tour or meet. [June 20, 2022 revision]
There is no limit as to the number of cars a Region/Society member can bring to the meet,
however, a Region/Society member must own all cars computed in the score.
It is the responsibility of the Region/Society applying for the award to record each member’s name and their car(s) make, year, model, and chassis number. Once the data is organized, the material is then submitted to the Regions and Societies Chairman. The time frame for eligible meets usually runs from 30 days prior to one Annual Meet to 30 days prior to the next.
Contact the Regions and Societies Chairman for exact dates. The winner of the Shoup Award will be announced at the Awards Banquet during the Annual Meet.
Each qualifying car receives 20 points plus the car’s age in years. The total score is then divided by the number of Region/Society “Full” members. This weighs the score such that small Regions/Societies can compete fairly with large Regions/Societies. Events involving more than one Region must be scored on a per Region basis and submitted as if there were separate events for each Region.
Organizing and conducting an event that encourages a large turnout of member’s cars is exciting, challenging, and rewarding. It can be great fun too! Those Regions that have been Shoup winners in the past have worked diligently to produce an interesting event, and work very hard to get members to bring their cars. The Regions and Societies Chairman is a great source of advice on how to properly plan and organize a Shoup eligible event.

2023 Lake Michigan Region Peter Gatsch
2022 Lake Michigan Region Terence Selby
2021 British Columbia Region Dave Baron
2020 Lake Michigan Region Dennis Johnston
2019 Lake Michigan Region Dennis Johnston
2018 Lake Michigan Region Dennis Johnston
2017 San Diego Region Al Whitley
2016 Lake Michigan Region           James Szczepanik               
2015 Lake Michigan Region           James Szczepanik         
2014 Lake Michigan Region James Carlini
2013 Lake Michigan Region James Carlini
2012 San Diego Region Yvonne Webb
2011 Motor Region Gary Rock
2010 Can Am Prairie Region Rob Manderson
2009 Motor Region Richard Vaughan
2008 British Columbia Region Anthony James May
2007 Can-Am Prairie Region Kathy Doyle
2006 Yankee Region Michael Gaetano
2005 Yankee Region Michael Gaetano
2004 Lake Michigan Region Bob Merrifield
2003 Rebel Region Brad Bethel
2002 Lake Michigan Region Robert Ritholz
2001 No Award  
2000 Lake Michigan Region Robert Ritholz
1999 Lake Michigan Region MIchelle James
1998 British Columbia Region John Craig
1997 Yankee Region B.J. Jefferson, Jr.
1996 St. Lawrence Valley Region Roger Bradley
1995 Lake Michigan Region Robin James
1994 Lake Michigan Region Robin James
1993 Lake Michigan Region Robin James
1992 Rebel Region Graham Davenport
1991 Motor Region Martin Leavitt
1990 Rebel Region Comer Train
1989 Motor Region Lawrence Becerra
1988 Southern California Region Not Listed
1987 Rebel Region Not Listed
1986 Rebel Region Not Listed
1985 Southern California
San Diego Regions
Not Listed
1984 British Columbia Region Not Listed